Citizens vs. PNC Bank HELOC
Citizens and PNC Bank compared on rates, fees, borrowing limits and fixed-rate options, from each lender's published terms.
Disclosure: Shawn Way is a loan officer at West Capital Lending, Inc., which competes with these lenders. HELOCHQ isn't paid by any lender for reviews, and every fact below comes from the lender's own published terms.
Citizens is cheaper to open, with no application, origination or closing fees, and it offers larger lines, up to $2 million. PNC publishes its APR range and has more flexible fixed-rate locks, but charges an origination fee and a $75 annual fee.
On this page
Side by side
| Citizens | PNC Bank | |
|---|---|---|
| Type | Regional bank | National bank |
| Rate | Variable, based on the WSJ prime rate; APR floor 2.50%, cap 21% | Variable, prime plus a margin; 7.87%–14.50% APR for $10,000–$1,000,000 lines as of August 16, 2026; floor 2.25%, cap 24% |
| Credit score | 680+ | Not published by PNC Bank as of October 26, 2026; ask the lender |
| Max borrowing | Up to 85% | Not published by PNC Bank as of October 26, 2026; ask the lender. Loan-to-value affects the rate |
| Line size | $17,500–$2,000,000 | $10,000–$1,000,000 |
| Terms | 10-year draw; repayment length not stated | Draw and repayment periods; lengths not stated on the rates page |
| Fees | No application, origination or closing fees; $50 annual fee after year one (waived with certain Citizens checking accounts) | $75 annual fee (none in Texas); origination fee $299–$599 by line size; title insurance may apply; closing costs PNC paid are owed back if closed within 36 months |
| Fixed-rate option | Not published by Citizens as of October 26, 2026; ask the lender | Fixed Rate Lock on $5,000 or more for 5 to 30 years; $100 fee for each lock after opening |
Sources: Citizens (checked October 26, 2026) and PNC Bank (checked October 26, 2026). Terms change; confirm with each lender.
Use a free calculator, or get your HELOC rate from Shawn.
The difference that matters
Watch the lifetime caps: 21% at Citizens and 24% at PNC, both higher than the 18% common elsewhere. PNC also requires repaying closing costs it paid if you close within 36 months.
Choose Citizens if
- You need a very large line
- You want no opening fees
- You can meet Citizens' best-rate conditions (a $200,000+ line, first lien, 80% loan-to-value, Citizens autopay)
Choose PNC Bank if
- You want to lock draws at fixed rates over 5 to 30 years
- You bank with PNC and can use autopay
- You want a small line from $10,000
If neither fits
Different lenders draw the line in different places on credit score, loan-to-value, property type and state. A broker can price several lenders with one application. Get your HELOC rate, or if you already have an offer from either lender, see how it compares with HELOCs closed this year.
Full reviews
Shawn Way is a loan officer at West Capital Lending, Inc., which may compete with the lenders reviewed here and may also arrange loans through some of them as a mortgage broker. Facts come from each lender's own website on the date shown and can change; confirm current terms with the lender.
Sources
Official sources behind this guide.
- What is the difference between a home equity loan and a HELOC? · Consumer Financial Protection Bureau
- What you should know about home equity lines of credit (booklet, PDF) · Consumer Financial Protection Bureau
- Bank Prime Loan Rate (DPRIME) · Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis, FRED
- Regulation Z §1026.40: Requirements for home equity plans · Consumer Financial Protection Bureau